MY BIOGRAPHY

 

Christian Felix Benning - Multipercussionis

 

Acclaimed by audiences and critics alike, multi percussionist Christian F. Benning has been hailed as a “phenomenal“ (Sueddeutsche Zeitung) and an “absolute exceptional talent” (Forum Freising). His performances have been extolled as “rife with elegant perfection” (Muenchner Merkur). At the age of three he obtained his first drumming lesson, and at the age of eight he started playing the piano.

 

Since 2005 Christian has been the principal timpanist and percussionist of the “Bayerische Philharmonie”, where he had his debut of being a concerto soloist with symphony orchestra as well.

 

Thirteen years old, Christian Felix Benning had been matriculated as a precollege student for percussion at the “Hochschule für Musik und Theater” in Munich, where he had been taught in the percussion class of Prof. Adel Shalaby for ten semesters, until he passed his final exams at high school involving special distinctions in 2014.

 

In addition, classes at modern drum schools, as well as international academies, seminars and workshops with Martin Grubinger, Evelyn Glennie, Jost Nickel, Jojo Mayer, Lang Lang, Leon Fleisher among others complete his artistic education.


Beside several successful competitions, including first national prizes of the “Jugend Musiziert” contest with maximum scores in 2010 and 2013, or the third price of the international marimba competition “Marimba Festiva 2010” in Nuremberg, a range of solo concerts and own percussion performances took place including the “Bundesrat” or the “Allianz Forum” in Berlin (as the musical framing of an award presentation for Yoko Ono), in the “Philharmonie” and in the “Prinzregententheater” in Munich, in the “New Castle” of Stuttgart, at the “Palace of Justice” in Vienna (Austria), at the international festival “Le Musicale d’Orient” in Troyes (France), as well as in “The Abbey” in San Diego (CA) or at “Goodwin Hall” in Baltimore (MD) in the USA. Moreover he featured the “Audi Sommer Concert Series 2015” as a soloist under the conducting of Kent Nagano, and he played on several international stages, inter alia Luxemburg, Switzerland, Chech Republic, Poland, South Korea, Egypt or Oman with established orchestras and ensembles like the “Hugo Strasser BigBand”, the “Munich Percussion Ensemble”, the “Collegia Musica Chiemgau”, the “Euregio Chamber Orchestra”, the “Munich Philharmonic Orchestra” and with the “Franz Schmidt Chamber Orchestra Vienna”.

 

In 2014 Simone Rubino, Richard Putz, Sergey Mikhaylenko and Christian Felix Benning founded the “Esegesi Percussion Quartett”. Multitudinous concerts at prestigious international festivals like the “Rheingau Festival” in Frankfurt, the “Schleswig-Holstein Musikfestival”, the “Heidelberger Frühling” or at “La Folle Journeé de Nantes” France have been presented and are planned for the upcoming months. In addition, Christian Benning continuously receives invitations as a soloist for several concerts and evets, recent to a nationwide radio concert of the “ARD” in Karlsruhe, as solo instrumentalist of the world’s biggest choire festival “Various Voices” in the Philharmonic Hall of Munich,, with several orchestras to the “HerculesHall” of Munich, or to the “Laeiszhalle” in Hamburg.

 

Benning plays solo recitals as well as concerts as a soloist with his own ensemble “Percussion No. 1”, which he founded in 2014 and that is enriching his solo repertoire. In this constellation he recently performed at the “UniCredit Festival Night” of the Bavarian State Opera (Munich), or at the open air festival “Fronhofkonzete” (Augsburg), where “the precision of the band only was topped by the joy the musicians shared on stage with the audience” (Augsburger Allgemeine: “Christian Felix Benning: Fascinating percussionist”).

 

In 2013 Benning was admitted to the “Deutsche Stiftung Musikleben” and to the “Bayerischer Tonkuenstlerverband”; since 2014 he has been a scholarship holder of the “Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes. In 2015 he was elected for being the youth counselor of “Percussion Creativ”, Europe’s biggest percussion society. In 2014 Christian has been awarded with the “Tassilo Kulturpreis of the Sueddeutsche Zeitung” and in 2016 with the “Pasinger Kunst- und Kulturpreis”.

 

From 2014 on Christian Felix Benning had been studying in the percussion class of Prof. Dr. Peter Sadlo until his tragic death, and from then on in the percussion class of Prof. Arnold Riedhammer at the “Hochschule für Musik und Theater” in Munich.

 

In 2017 he absolved a semester abroad at the “Peabody Conservatory of the Johns Hopkins University” in Baltimore (MD, USA  in the percussion class of Prof. Robert van Sice. During his US residence he gained invitations to the “Curtis Institute” (Philadelphia) and the “Yale School of Music” (New Haven) as well. His US solo debut took place in San Diego (CA).

Download
My Biography
Bio_CFB_April2018_English.pdf
Adobe Acrobat Dokument 31.4 KB

meine biographie

 

Christian Felix Benning - Multipercussionist

 

Als „phänomenal“ (Süddeutsche Zeitung), „absolutes Ausnahmetalent“ (Forum Freising) und voller „eleganter

Perfektion“ (Münchner Merkur) wurden Christian Felix Benning und die Konzertdarbietungen des 22-jährigen Multipercussionisten jüngst vielfach beschrieben und hoch gelobt, dabei steht die Karriere des vielseitigen Solo- und Ensemble-Künstlers gerade erst noch in den Startlöchern.

 

Mit drei Jahren erhielt er bereits seinen ersten Schlagzeug-Unterricht und begann als Achtjähriger mit dem Klavier-Unterricht. Seit 2005 ist Christian Solopaukist und Schlagwerker in der Bayerischen Philharmonie e.V., wo er alle Klangkörper durchlief und zusätzlich auch erste Erfahrungen als Solist mit Orchester sammeln konnte.

 

Bereits im Alter von dreizehn Jahren wurde Christian Felix Benning als Jungstudent für Schlagzeug und Percussion an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater in München immatrikuliert, wo ihn Prof. Adel Shalaby zehn Semester lang, bis zu seinem Abitur mit Sonderauszeichnungen 2014, unterrichtete. Zusätzlicher Schlagzeug-Unterricht bei der Schlagzeugschule „Drums“, sowie internationale Akademien,

Seminare und Workshops u.a. mit Martin Grubinger, Evelyn Glennie, Jost Nickel, Jojo Mayer,  Lang Lang, Leon Fleisher u.v.m. ergänzen seine künstlerische Ausbildung.


Neben mehrfachen Wettbewerbserfolgen, darunter die Bundespreise von „Jugend musiziert“ 2010 und 2013 (bundesweit als einziger Schlagzeuger mit Höchstpunktzahl), sowie der 3. Preis beim internationalen „Marimba Festiva-Wettbewerb 2010“ in Nürnberg, fanden zahlreiche Soloauftritte und Solokonzerte u.a. im Bundesrat und im Allianz-Forum (im Rahmen einer Preisverleihung für Yoko Ono) in Berlin, in der Philharmonie in München, im Neuen Schloss in Stuttgart, im Justizpalast in Wien, im Rahmen des Festivals „Les Musicales d´Orient“ in Frankreich, oder in „The Abbey“ in San Diego (CA) und der „Goodwin Hall“ in Baltimore (MD) in den USA statt. Darüber hinaus wirkte er unter dem Dirigat von Kent Nagano bei den „Audi- Sommerkonzerten 2015“ mit und spielte auf zahlreichen internationalen Bühnen (u. a. in Luxemburg, der Schweiz, Tschechien, Polen, Südkorea, Ägypten, Oman, USA) mit namhaften Orchestern und Ensembles wie der „Hugo Strasser Big Band“, dem „Munich Percussion Ensemble“, dem „Collegia Musica Chiemgau“, dem „Euregio-Kammerorchester“, den „Münchner Philharmonikern“ und dem „Franz-Schmidt-Kammerorchester Wien“.

 

2014 gründeten Simone Rubino, Richard Putz, Sergey Mikhaylenko und Christian F. Benning das „Esegesi-Percussion-Quartett“, mit dem zahlreiche Konzerte bei internationalen Musikfestivals, u.a. beim „Rheingau-Musikfestival“, „Schleswig-Holstein-Musikfestival“, „Heidelberger Frühling“, oder „La Folle Journée de Nantes“ gespielt wurden und in den kommenden Monaten geplant sind. Zusätzlich erhält Christian Benning laufend Einladungen als Solist für Solo-Konzerte, jüngst zu einer deutschlandweiten Live-Radio-Performance für die ARD im „Zentrum für Kunst und Medien“ in Karlsruhe, als Solo-Instrumentalist beim weltweit größten Chorfestival „Various Voices“ in der Münchener Philharmonie, mit Orchestern in den Herkulessaal der Münchener Residenz, oder in die Hamburger Laeiszhalle.

 

Benning spielt Konzerte sowohl im Solorezital-Format, als auch mit seinem eigens gegründeten Ensemble „Percussion No. 1“, das ihn als Solisten in seinem Repertoire unterstützt und bereichert, und mit dem er zuletzt u.a. in Reihen wie der „UniCredit Festspielnacht“ der Bayerischen Staatsoper (München) oder den „Augsburger Fronhofkonzerten“ auftrat, wobei „die Präzision der Band nur noch von der Spielfreude getoppt wurde“ (Augsburger Allgemeine: „Faszinierender Schlagzeuger“).

 

2013 erfolgte die Aufnahme in die „Deutsche Stiftung Musikleben“ und in den „Bayerischen Tonkünstlerverband“; seit 2014 ist er Stipendiat der Musikförderung der „Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes“. 2015 wurde er zum Jugendbeirat von „Percussion Creativ“, Europas größtem Percussion-Verband, gewählt, und 2017 wiedergewählt. 2014 bekam Benning den „Tassilo-Kulturpreis der Süddeutschen Zeitung“ verliehen. 2016 wurde er mit dem „Pasinger Kunst- und Kulturpreis (Förderpreis)“ ausgezeichnet.

 

Christian Felix Benning studierte von 2014 bis 2016 in der Schlagzeugklasse von Prof. Dr. Peter Sadlo, und nach dessen tragischen Tod in der Schlagzeugklasse von Prof. Arnold Riedhammer an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater in München.

 

2017/18 absolvierte er am „Peabody Institute of the Johns Hopkins University“ in Baltimore (Maryland/USA) dank großzügiger Stipendien durch die Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes und die Orlandus-Lassus-Stiftung ein Auslandssemester in der Schlagzeugklasse von Prof. Robert van Sice, und erhielt während seines Aufenthaltes zusätzliche Einladungen an das „Curtis Institute“ (Philadelphia) und an die „Yale School of Music“ (New Haven).

Download
Meine Biographie
Bio_CFB_April2017_Deutsch.pdf
Adobe Acrobat Dokument 35.1 KB